top of page
Banner nova data.png


Information on the Frontiers Research Topic is now available!


Manuscript submission deadline: 30 November 

(No need for abstract submission)

The 27th IAPS Conference Organization Team thanks you for your participation!

It was your virtual presence that made this conference a success: more than 350 participants and abstracts,

4 keynote-speakers, 60 sessions, including workshops and symposias over 4 days!

Did you miss any sessions? They are available for registered participants in the webapp for a period of 12 months!


Formed officially in 1981 but with intellectual roots back in the Sixties at the time of the architectural psychology movement, IAPS is a multidisciplinary and active association which gathers researchers and practitioners from around the world, with a shared interest in people’s interaction with their environment. Psychology, sociology, geography, design and planning are only a few of the disciplines represented and for these and their representatives, IAPS serves both as a platform for disciplinary discussion, and as a platform for collaboration. Detailed areas of work include: spatial cognition and wayfinding; ecological aspects of human actions in places; evaluation of buildings and natural landscapes; design of, and experiences in, workplaces, schools, residences, public buildings and public spaces; social use of space: crowding, privacy, territoriality, personal space; leisure and tourism behavior in relation to physical settings; meaning of built environments; theories of place, place attachment, and place identity; resource crises and environmental research; risks and hazards: their perception and management; urban design and urban regeneration, landscape design and their impact on quality of life. 

For more information, visit the IAPS website (

IAPS 2022 retakes climate change, its challenges and impacts as a major issue in current societies. It assumes that the increasingly visible and unavoidable impacts of a changing climate are already recasting several dimensions of our way of living and that additional knowledge is needed of in-motion transitions as well as innovative arrangements to tackle this central issue. Portugal is at the forefront of sustainable interventions and innovations in several domains, such as renewable energy generation, nature-based solutions, and biodiversity conservation. The environmental conflicts reveal that we need greater reflection, discussion and solutions in three interrelated areas: governance, sustainability and consumption. However, both Portuguese urban and rural environments are producing some of the most important and heated current debates concerning people-environment studies, namely regarding gentrification and touristification; the low carbon transition; and adaptation to climate change (e.g., sea level rise; loss of biodiversity).

IAPS 2022 will address the challenges of these three themes.



Carla Mouro - Co-Chair - (Iscte - University Institute of Lisbon, Portugal)

Catarina Roseta-Palma (Iscte - University Institute of Lisbon, Portugal)

Enrica Boager (Iscte - University Institute of Lisbon, Portugal)

Marcos Figueiredo (Iscte-University Institute of Lisbon, Portugal)

Maria Fernandes-Jesus (York St John University, UK)

Micaela Raposo (Iscte-University Institute of Lisbon, Portugal)

Miriam Rosa - Chair - (Iscte - University Institute of Lisbon, Portugal)

Patrícia Duarte (Iscte -University Institute of Lisbon, Portugal)

Sara Eloy (Iscte - University Institute of Lisbon, Portugal)

Sílvia Luís (School of Psychology and Life Sciences, Lusófona University, Lisbon, Portugal)

Susana Batel - Co-Chair (Iscte - University Institute of Lisbon, Portugal)


Luisa Lima - Coordinator (Iscte - University Institute of Lisbon, Portugal)

Paula Castro Coordinator (Iscte - University Institute of Lisbon, Portugal)

Tony Craig (The James Hutton Institute, Aberdeen, UK)

Adriana Portella (Federal Univ. of Pelotas, Brazil)

Henk Staats (Leiden University, Holland)

Ferdinando Fornara (University of Cagliari, Italy)

Karine Weiss (Université de Nimes, France)

Silvia Collado Salas (University of Zaragoza, Spain)

Patricia Ortega Andeane (National Autonomous University of Mexico)

Susana Batel (Iscte - University Institute of Lisbon, Portugal)

Andrés di Masso (University of Barcelona, Spain)

Enric Pol (University of Barcelona, Spain)

Carole Després (Université Laval, Canada)

Hulya Turgut (Ozyegin University, Turkey)

David Rudolph (Danish Technical University, Denmark)

Isabel Richter (University of Pylmouth, UK)

Teresa Heitor (Universidade de Lisboa - IST)

Mauricio Loyola (University of Chile, Chile)

Patrícia Arriaga (Iscte - University Institute of Lisbon, Portugal)

Sabine Caillaud (Université Lumière Lyon 2, France)

Raquel Bertoldo (Aix-Marseille Université, France)

Sibila Marques (Iscte - University Institute of Lisbon, Portugal)

José Pinheiro (Universidade Rio Grande do Norte, Brazil)

Sarah Payne   (Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, UK)


Alison Laurie Neilson (CICS.NOVA)

Ana Simaens (Iscte - University Institute of Lisbon, Portugal)

Angela Castrechini Trotta (University of Barcelona)

Ann Sloan Devlin (Connecticut College)

Bernardo Hernandez (Universidad de La Laguna)

Britta Eklöf (University of Science and Technology, Trondheim, Norway.)

Christophe Demarque Université d'Aix-Marseille

Clare Twigger-Ross (Collingwood Environmental Planning)

Daniela Craveiro ICS

Diogo Guedes Vidal (University Fernando Pessoa, Porto, Portugal)

Edward Edgerton (University of the West of Scotland)

Elisângela Brito Pessoa (Faculdade de Arquitetura, Universidade de Lisboa)

Ellen Matthies (Dept. of Psychology OVGU Magdeburg)

Emilie Pinard (McEwen School of Architecture, Laurentian University)

Federica Cucchiella (University of L’Aquila)

Florian Kaiser Otto-von-Guericke (University Magdeburg)

Fointiat Valérie (Aix Marseille Univ.)

Isabel Duarte de Almeida (Iscte-IUL)


Johann Suchier (Aix-Marseille Université)

José A. Corraliza (Universidad Autónoma of Madrid)

Juan Ignacio Aragonés (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)

Kalevi Korpela (Tampere University)

Kate Sherren (Dalhousie University)

Lorraine Whitmarsh (University of Bath)

Maria Johansson (Lund University)

Marino Bonaiuto (Sapienza Università di Roma)

Mauro Sarrica (Sapienza University of Rome)

Mehmet Ali Üzelgün (Nova University Lisbon)

Pablo Garcia de Paredes (Université Laval)

Paola Passafaro (Dep. of Developmental and Social Psychology)

Perla Serfaty-Garzon (University of Strasbourg)

Ricardo Garcia-Mira (University of A Coruna)

Rui Gaspar (Catholic University of Portugal)

Sabine Caillaud (GRePS University Lyon 2)

Sebnem Hoskara (Eastern Mediterranean University)

Tasos Hovardas (University of Cyprus)

Tim Kurz (University of Western Australia)

Valérie HAAS (Université Lumière)

bottom of page